Honolulu Surf Film Festival

July 7 - August 3, 2018

The Honolulu Surf Film Festival returns for its 11th year to showcase the best new features and shorts. Theater guests can see beautiful barrels and gnarly wipeouts on surf journeys across the globe, along with inspirational tales from surfers we know and love. 

The festival kicks off with an opening reception on Saturday, July 7, with food and live entertainment. During the reception, guests will be able to visit the exhibition Making Waves, which features works by international and Hawaii-based female artists who all have a relationship to water. Artists Carol Bennett and Bruna Stude will give a special gallery tour of their works in the exhibition.

Throughout the month audiences can vote for their festival favorites. The winners of the audience-choice awards will be announced at the closing-night reception and film on Sunday, July 29.

This year, the festival is honored to have surfer and filmmaker Crystal Thornburg-Homcy as a guest curator. She will develop a shorts program inspired by Making Waves, an exhibition featuring water-related works by women artists, opening June 14.

Film Tickets: Available at the theater door on the day of screening, beginning one half-hour before each showing, or online in advance.

Film admission: $12 general admission; $10 museum members; free for youth 18 and under at the door. 

Full Lineup of Films:
Momentum Generation
Saturday, July 7 at 6 p.m.
Saturday, July 28 at 7:30 p.m.

Surf Cinema Nugs 2018
Sunday, July 8 at 1 p.m.
Wednesday, July 11 at 1 p.m.
Friday, August 3 at 7:30 p.m.

Locals Only
Sunday, July 8 at 4 p.m.
Tuesday, July 17 at 1 p.m.
Thursday, August 2 at 1 p.m.

Blue Intensity + The Church of the Open Sky
Sunday, July 8 at 7 p.m.
Tuesday, July 10 at 1 p.m.
Friday, July 13 at 7:30 p.m.

Her Waves
Tuesday, July 10 at 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, July 14 at 1 p.m.
Wednesday, July 18 at 7:30 p.m.

The Endless Winter II; Surfing Europe
Wednesday, July 11 at 7:30 p.m.
Thursday, July 19 at 1 p.m.
Wednesday, July 25 at 1 p.m.

Perilous Sea + The Seawolf
Thursday, July 12 at 1 p.m.
Saturday, July 14 at 7:30 p.m.
Friday, August 3 at 1 p.m.

Blue Road + Surfing the South Island of New Zealand
Thursday, July 12 at 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, July 14 at 4 p.m.
Wednesday, August 1 at 7:30 p.m.

Beyond
Friday, July 13 at 1 p.m.
Tuesday, July 17 at 7:30 p.m.

She is the Ocean
Sunday, July 15 at 1 p.m.
Wednesday, July 25 at 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, July 28 at 4 p.m.

Adaptive Surfing films + panel
Sunday, July 15 at 4 p.m.

Wave Inspirations curated by Crystal Thornburg-Homcy
Sunday, July 15 at 7 p.m.
Wednesday, July 18 at 1 p.m.
Thursday, July 19 at 7:30 p.m.

Emocean + Cuban Wave Riders
Sunday, July 22 at 4 p.m.
Tuesday, July 24 at 7:30 p.m.
Thursday, July 26 at 1 p.m.

Big Wata (The Ocean)
Sunday, July 22 at 7 p.m.
Tuesday, July 24 at 1 p.m.
Tuesday, July 31 at 7:30 p.m.

Surf Profiles
Thursday, July 26 at 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, July 28 at 1 p.m.
Thursday, August 2 at 7:30 p.m.

The Essence
Sunday, July 29 at 6 p.m.

Honolulu Museum of Art

Instagram

Plan Your Trip

Discover Your Hawaii

Plan your own idyllic getaway with the Hawaii travel experts. Our partner, Pleasant Holidays, has created unforgettable vacations to the Hawaiian Islands for more than half a century, and can help you with all your travel arrangements.

Book now!

Experience Your Hawaii

Enhance your vacation with activities and experience the very best of the islands. From helicopter flights to snorkeling adventures, from luaus to eco-tours, Pleasant Activities has hundreds of engaging activities that will catch your fancy.

Book now!